What to watch after Premier League called off

Across the men’s and women’s games, English and Scottish football have decided to call off all fixtures this weekend following the death of Queen Elizabeth II.

There are still plenty of club games around the world being broadcast, however, and The Athletic writers have compiled this guide to the matches you might want to keep an eye on while the Premier League, EFL, Premiership, National League and more are on pause.


Bundesliga

No doubt about the weekend’s biggest game in Germany: Marco Rose takes charge of his first RB Leipzig match following the dismissal of Domenico Tedesco on Saturday as they host Borussia Dortmund, the club that sacked him after just a single season in charge. With cause, too, because Dortmund’s lows under Rose were deep enough to damage his reputation and leave him facing not quite a last chance in Leipzig, but a critical juncture that demands a positive response.

That’s a must-watch, so too are Christian Streich and Freiburg.

Streich is one of German football’s great, enduring characters and his team have won four games straight across all competitions and will return to a febrile Europa Park on Sunday with the chance of retaining their place on top of the Bundesliga.

Yes, really.

They face Borussia Monchengladbach, who can be anything at all, as that miraculous point against perennial champions Bayern in Munich a few weeks ago proved. Gladbach are a team of ethereal talents and mood players — watch out for young Manu Kone — and they’ve been bolstered by the signing of former Dortmund midfielder Julian Weigl, on loan from Benfica.

Seb Stafford-Bloor

Serie A

Pressure is mounting on Inter Milan coach Simone Inzaghi after three defeats in four games. The 46-year-old has been criticised for getting his line-ups wrong and the team looks like it may be going stale. Inter’s directors were at the training ground to hold talks with Inzaghi after the 2-0 loss to Bayern Munich at San Siro in their Champions League group opener on Wednesday night. Chief executive Beppe Marotta then gave Inzaghi a public vote of confidence in an interview with Sky Italia.

Sacking the raven-haired former striker would be an expense Inter can ill-afford so soon after president Steven Zhang shook hands with him on a contract extension. The hope is Inzaghi can turn things around.

Inter host Torino on Saturday and can expect a rough and tumble game. Ivan Juric’s side have started the season well despite a public falling-out between the coach and his sporting director. New signings Nemanja Radonjic and Nikola Vlasic have hit the ground running and three wins in five games hint at a team ready to challenge for Europe. How will Inzaghi respond?

Elsewhere, Serie A’s leaders Atalanta have a great chance to stay at the top against newly-promoted Cremonese in a Lombardy derby on Sunday.

Atalanta didn’t figure in the conversation for the top four on the eve of the season but they are undefeated and have won four games out of five. The league is so open this season, it’s tempting to consider Atalanta as dark horses. They’re not in Europe and many of their star players won’t be at the World Cup.

As for Cremonese, they’re back in Serie A after 26 years and it was lovely to see one of their favourite sons, Gianluca Vialli, at the Stadio Giovanni Zini on Monday in a vintage red and grey jersey.

Scottish readers might want to check in on the game and see if Jack Hendry makes his debut. Hendry is one of four Scots in Serie A after Empoli’s Liam Henderson, Lewis Ferguson at Bologna and Verona’s Josh Doig. 

James Horncastle


The pressure is mounting on Inter’s Simone Inzaghi (Photo: Isabella Bonotto/AFP via Getty Images)

La Liga

La Liga has a full programme of games this weekend, from Girona hosting Valladolid on Friday evening through to Almeria vs Osasuna on Monday.

The four Champions League sides — Real Madrid, Barcelona, Atletico Madrid and Sevilla — all face teams who finished in the bottom half last season.

UK TV viewers will not be able to watch Sevilla visit Espanyol, in what could be Julen Lopetegui’s last game as coach due to the 3pm Saturday afternoon blackout of any live televised football in Britain but Barcelona’s trip to Cadiz a little later on could see Robert Lewandowski and company continue their recent goalscoring spree, given Cadiz are currently bottom with zero goals scored and 10 conceded.

The most interesting clash of the weekend could be Manuel Pellegrini’s Real Betis hosting Unai Emery’s Villarreal. Both teams have had excellent starts to the season and the winners on Sunday night will gain an early advantage in the race to nab a top-four finish.

Dermot Corrigan

Ligue 1

The headlines have been grabbed by Paris Saint-Germain’s divine trio of Lionel Messi, Kylian Mbappe and Neymar in most Ligue 1 match rounds so far this season. This weekend, it is the clubs pushing to challenge PSG for the title or secure a European place that are the reasons to keep your eyes glued to the television.

Marseille, only second to PSG on goal difference, will be hoping to make it five successive Ligue 1 victories on Saturday. They are likely to face a stiff challenge, however, when they host Paulo Fonseca’s Lille at the Stade Velodrome as the visitors aim for their third consecutive away scalp. It could also be an intriguing opportunity for Arsenal supporters to see how their former players Alexis Sanchez and Matteo Guendouzi are getting on at Marseille. Nuno Tavares has also played all six games since joining them on loan from the north London side.

go-deeper

GO DEEPER

The Arsenal exiles leading Marseille’s revolution

Another must-watch game is Lyon’s visit to Monaco on Sunday. Brazilian Tete has been lighting up Ligue 1 this season since joining on loan from Shakhtar Donetsk of Ukraine. A left-footed winger who prefers to cut in from the right flank, Tete has bamboozled defenders on plenty of occasions this season. But he has oozed substance along with the style, with four goals and two assists.

For those who fancy witnessing what an alternative XI of Premier League players looks like, tune in to Ajaccio vs Nice earlier on Sunday. Lucien Favre’s visitors are in 16th place but feature a number of former stars from England’s top flight. Former Leicester captain Kasper Schmeichel is between the sticks, Joe Bryan is on loan from Fulham, and there’s also ex-Manchester United and Everton midfielder Morgan Schneiderlin. Ross Barkley just joined as a free agent after leaving Chelsea, while Nicolas Pepe arrived on loan from Arsenal. Wales hero Aaron Ramsey is also with Nice, but misses out through injury.

All in all, there remains little to separate to sides after a month of action — and this weekend looks set to offer another twist in this season’s tale.

Ali Humayun

Nashville vs LA Galaxy

The MLS championship playoff race is heating up, and both of these teams need points for different reasons. Nashville are hoping to hang on to a spot in the top four of the Western Conference, which would give them hosting rights at their brand new (and lovely) stadium for the first game of the single-elimination postseason.

Javier 'Chicharito' Hernandez of LA Galaxy


Former Manchester United striker Chicharito now stars for LA Galaxy (Photo: Shaun Clark/Getty Images)

Bundesliga

US: Every game can be streamed on ESPN+

Friday

  • Werder Bremen vs Augsburg (7.30pm BST; 2.30pm ET; 11.30pm PT) — Sky Sports Football YouTube

Saturday

  • Hertha Berlin vs Bayer Leverkusen (2.30pm BST; 9.30am ET; 6.30am PT)
  • Hoffenheim vs Mainz (2.30pm BST; 9.30am ET; 6.30am PT)
  • RB Leipzig vs Borussia Dortmund (2.30pm BST; 9.30am ET; 6.30am PT)
  • Bayern vs Stuttgart (2.30pm BST; 9.30am ET; 6.30am PT)
  • Eintracht Frankfurt vs Wolfsburg (2.30pm BST; 9.30am ET; 6.30am PT)
  • Schalke vs Bochum (5.30pm BST; 12.30pm ET; 9.30am PT) — Sky Sports Football

Sunday

  • Cologne vs Union Berlin (2.30pm BST; 9.30am ET; 6.30am PT) — Sky Sports Football
  • Freiburg vs Borussia Monchengladbach (4.30pm BST; 11.30am ET; 8.30am PT) — Sky Sports Football

Serie A

US: Each game can be streamed on Paramount+

Saturday

  • Napoli vs Spezia (2pm BST; 9am ET; 6am PT)
  • Inter Milan vs Torino (5pm BST; 12pm ET; 9am PT) — BT Sport 2
  • Sampdoria vs AC Milan (7.45pm BST; 2.45pm ET; 11.45am PT) — BT Sport 1

Sunday

  • Atalanta vs Cremonese (11.30am BST; 6.30am ET; 3.30am PT) — BT Sport 1
  • Sassuolo vs Udinese (2pm BST; 9am ET; 6am PT) — BT Sport 5
  • Bologna vs Fiorentina (2pm BST; 9am ET; 6am PT)— BT Sport 2
  • Lecce vs Monza (2pm BST; 9am ET; 6am PT) — BT Sport 6
  • Lazio vs Verona (5pm BST; 12pm ET; 9am PT) — BT Sport 2
  • Juventus vs Salernitana (7.45pm BST; 2.45pm ET; 11.45am PT) — BT Sport 1

Monday

  • Empoli vs Roma (7.45pm BST; 2.45pm ET; 11.45am PT) — BT Sport 1

La Liga

US: Each game can be streamed on ESPN+ 

Friday

  • Girona vs Valladolid (8pm BST; 3pm ET; 12pm PT) — Premier Sports 1; La Liga TV

Saturday

  • Rayo Vallecano vs Valencia (1pm BST; 8am ET; 5am PT) — La Liga TV
  • Espanyol vs Sevilla (3.15pm BST; 10.15am ET; 7.15am PT)
  • Cadiz vs Barcelona (5:30pm BST; 12:30pm ET; 9:30am PT) — Premier Sports 1; LaLiga TV
  • Atletico Madrid vs Celta Vigo (8pm BST; 3pm ET; 12pm PT) — Premier Sports 1; LaLiga TV

Sunday

  • Real Madrid vs Mallorca (1pm BST; 8am ET; 5am PT) — Premier Sports 1; LaLiga TV
  • Elche vs Athletic Bilbao (3pm BST; 10am ET; 7am PT) — Premier Sports 1; LaLiga TV
  • Getafe vs Real Sociedad (5.30pm BST; 12.30pm ET; 9.30am PT) — Premier Sports 1; LaLiga TV
  • Real Betis vs Villarreal (8pm BST; 3pm ET; 12pm PT)— Premier Sports 1; LaLiga TV
  • Almeria vs Osasuna (8pm BST; 3pm ET; 12pm PT)

Ligue 1

US: Each game is available on beIN Sports or beIN Sports Connect

Friday

  • Lens vs Troyes (8pm BST; 3pm ET; 12pm PT) BT Sport 2

Saturday

  • Paris Saint-Germain vs Brest (4pm BST; 11am ET; 8am PT)
  • Marseille v Lille (8pm BST; 3pm ET; 12pm PT) — BT Sport 2

Sunday

  • Strasbourg v Clermont (12:00) — BT Sport 3
  • Angers vs Montpellier (2pm BST; 9am ET; 6am PT)
  • Ajaccio vs Nice (2pm BST; 9am ET; 6am PT) — BT Sport 3
  • Toulouse vs Reims (2pm BST; 9am ET; 6am PT)
  • Lorient vs Nantes (2pm BST; 9am ET; 6am PT)
  • Rennes vs Auxerre (2pm BST; 9am ET; 6am PT) — BT Sport 3
  • Monaco vs Lyon (7.45pm BST; 2.45pm ET; 11.45am PT) — BT Sport 2

Premier League’s loaned players on TV

Club Player Loaned to Fixture

Arsenal

Nicolas Pepe

Nice

Ajaccio v Nice

Arsenal

Pablo Mari

Monza

Lecce vs Monza

Arsenal

Nuno Tavares

Marseille

Marseille vs Lille

Brentford

Mads Bech Sorensen

Nice

Ajaccio vs Nice

Brighton & Hove Albion

Abdallah Sima

Angers

Angers vs Montpellier

Chelsea

Ethan Ampadu

Spezia

Napoli vs Spezia

Chelsea

Callum Hudson-Odoi

Bayer Leverkusen

Hertha Berlin vs Leverkusen

Everton

Andre Gomes

Lille

Marseille vs Lille

Fulham

Paulo Gazzaniga

Girona

Girona vs Valladolid

Fulham

Joe Bryan

Nice

Ajaccio vs Nice

Liverpool

Sepp van der Berg

Schalke

Schalke vs Bochum

Manchester City

Issa Kabore

Marseille

Marseille v Lille

Manchester City

Yangel Herrera

Girona

Girona vs Valladolid

Manchester City

Yan Couto

Girona

Girona vs Valladolid

Manchester United

Alex Telles

Sevilla

Espanyol vs Sevilla

Nottingham Forest

Braian Ojeda

Real Salt Lake

Real Salt Lake vs DC United

Southampton

Mateusz Liz

Troyes

Lens vs Troyes

Tottenham Hotspur

Tanguy Ndombele

Napoli

Napoli vs Spezia

Tottenham Hotspur

Harry Winks

Sampdoria

Sampdoria vs AC Milan

Tottenham Hotspur

Destiny Udogie

Udinese

Sassuolo vs Udinese

Tottenham Hotspur

Giovani Lo Celso

Villarreal

Real Betis vs Villarreal

Tottenham Hotspur

Joe Rodon

Rennes

Rennes vs Auxerre

West Ham

Nikola Vlasic

Torino

Inter Milan vs Torino

(Top photo: Getty Images)

We want to thank the author of this article for this awesome web content

What to watch after Premier League called off

You can find our social media profiles , as well as other pages related to it.https://topfut.com/related-pages/